• John Daly

2018 Annual General Meeting

It seems only 5 minutes since I was last writing about our AGM and here we are again. Watton branch 97th and very well attended the youngest person present was Gracie Bailey (13) one of our affiliated guides to Sid Barnes our D-Day vet at 94. The meeting was opened as always with the Exhortation shared between myself and Gracie, followed by a short prayer from Gerry our chaplain to remember the WW1 generation which is this years theme for the entire legion. Awards were made to Alan Chilvers standing down after many years service as standard bearer who was presented with a standard bearers motif tie. A framed print by a local artist Sean Riley of a 21sqn Blenheim was presented to the Families club chair C/T Scott Bradbury from the branch to commemorate our 1st year using the club as our meeting venue. We have been made most welcome during that time. Finally a small award was made to Sid Barnes for all his work towards helping veterans to revisit the cemeteries and battlefields of Europe, being made a branch life member. A new committee was elected, well those posts that were up for election, so a new vice chair in Victoria Southward and 4 other members Steve Bibby, Gary Holmes, Dave Galvin and our only serving member on the committee SAC Tony Ball. He is one of 4 serving members in the branch. there was food laid on, courtesy of the branch and Gracie entertained us by running the raffle from the chair and definitely taking no prisoners, so just pay attention!!! So formalities done we all set about eating and drinking our way to about 1030pm when it was decided we really ought to be getting home as it was a school day after all. I'll be reporting back soon no doubt.


Recent Posts

See All


I have been administering this website now for about 3 years but this is time to say adios as Helen and I are moving to Cumbria to be closer to our grandson and his family. Helen and I both served in

We meet on 3rd Tuesday of the month, at the Blenheim Centre (RAF families club), Tedder close, Watton, IP25 6HU,  at 1900hrs.

Branch Officers:       Chairman  Victoria Southward    V/Chair Jayne Eastwood    

                                 Treasurer   Alison Galvin.     President    Ron Wheeler 


Local Poppy Appeal Organiser: Mr Pat Murphy Telephone  01953  498164

Branch Secretary

 Alan Diver   :Telephone 07711840799  / e-mail

Branch Community Support

 Please use the email facility on the contact us page

Membership direct dial number:  0800 307 7773

Watton contacts